leadership and character

Donald Miller spoke in Dallas at the Echo Conference this past week. In his session he was talking about the power of story and was quoted with the following – “A character is what they do, not what they feel or think or want to be.”

When it comes to leadership the same is true. Our leadership character is defined by our actions and not our ideals. 

I can read all the top books on leadership that I can get my hands on. I can attend all the best conferences. I can espouse all the theory and recite all the great quotes from the greatest leaders.  I can surround myself with the greatest mentors and leaders.

But, if I don’t live it out, it doesn’t matter.  As a leader, I am only as good as what I do, not what I desire to be.

And what I do is not defined by results either. It’s who I am. See, results can be deceiving.  Results are numbers. You can make numbers say anything you want.

Paul writing in Romans 12:3

For by the grace given me I say to every one of you: Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment, in accordance with the measure of faith God has given you.”

Character is who you are at the core. Not what you think about yourself. It is a reflection of Christ in you. And you can’t make it say anything other than what it is.

One response

  1. I love that our actions define us. It shows me an honest picture of who I am.
    I hate that our actions define us. It shows me an honest picture of who I am.

Leave a Reply

