the peacemaker

My new friend, David Fletcher whom I met just a few weeks ago, gave me a book during our visit titled The Peacemaker by Ken Sande.  Honestly, it looked a little too thick and academic for me to run right home and read, so it sat on the nightstand for longer than usual. I finally cracked it open a few days ago and anticipate it being one of those books that becomes a staple in my library.

I have read and re-read the first chapter five times this week. In it Sande makes this statement:

“Most importantly, the Bible teaches that we should see conflict neither as an inconvenience nor as an occasion for selfish gain, but rather as an opportunity to demonstrate the presence and power of God.” 

I’ve been captivated and confronted with this all week. I find it quite welcoming and in drastic contrast to what the world would suggest. Sande goes on to suggest that fundamentally conflict is for the glory of God.

What does this mean for me as a husband/father/pastor/leader?  What changes do I need to make to ensure that the power of God is demonstrated when conflict arises?

I can’t wait to find out.

One response

Leave a Reply

