seriously, how am i doing?

As a leader I often wonder how effective I am in my leadership.  I don’t do it as often as I should, but I’ve been known to ask those staff members who report to me how I can help them do their job better. What do they need from me? Am I giving them the type of leadership and direction that is setting them up for success? 

Sometimes I sense honesty in their responses. Other times I sense a bit of reservation  – likely in the form of self-protection.  At the end of the day, without this feedback, I am not able to live up to my full potential as a leader.  This level of honesty is crucial for a team to move past barely surviving to truly thriving.

Anyway, my new friend Pete, talked about a recent encounter that is about as transparent as I’ve seen a Lead Pastor be in regards to his own performance. You should read it and learn from it. Click HERE to read more.  I triple-dog-dare you to solicit this kind of feedback. 

Leave a Reply

